Skip to Main Content

JCPS Digital Archives: Records Management

Testing application for history resource

Records Management

Records Retention

Public School District Records Retention Schedule
The Public School District Records Retention Schedule lists the various types of records kept by Kentucky's public school districts and how long you have to keep them.
Extended Retention Memorandum
JCPS keeps 76 types of records longer than the the state requires. This is a list of those types of records and JCPS's retention periods.

An Instructional Video on How Long to Keep Your Records
The state requires you to keep the records you create, use, and maintain for certain periods of time, depending on the type of records they are. This video helps you figure out how long to keep your records.

Transferring Records to the Archives

An Instructional Video on Transferring Records to the Archives and Records Center
The Archives and Records Center stores records that you need to keep but do not have room for in your school or department. This video is a step-by-step guide to how to send records to the Archives.

Please use a specific box to send records to the Archives. Boxes are available via Munis:

Commodity Code 5690090-2008608, Box, Storage 12 x 15 x 10 Archive.

The Archives cannot accept records in other boxes.

Box labels are available through the Archives at 502-485-3098 or archives@jefferson.kyschools.us.

Transmittal Form
This is the Transmittal Form, one of which must be completed for each box that you want to send to the Archives,.

Records Destruction

Records Destruction Certificate
This is the Records Destruction Certificate, which should be completed when records are destroyed. A copy of the Destruction Certificate should be submitted to the Archives Supervisor, at C.B. Young, Building 6, or archives@jefferson.kyschools.us.

JCPSlogo

Archives and Records Center
Library Media Services
C.B. Young Service Center, Bldg. 6
3001 Crittenden Drive, Louisville, KY 40209