Skip to Main Content

Jacob Elementary Library: Teacher Resources

JCPS Community Partnerships

Find field trip information, in-school program opportunities from organizations in the Kentuckiana area. 

Louisville Free Public Library

Visit your local branch and use your library card to check out a book that we don't have or check out an e-book that can be delivered right to your device!

DOCSTeach

Explore thousands of primary sources- letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, and videos. Discover activities you can teach with! All provided by the National Archives so that you can provide students with inquiry experiences.

TeachingBooks

Kentucky Historical Society

Resource Guides for each grade level that connect the new Kentucky-centric KAS for Social Studies to a primary source from our online collection. Possible discussion questions are also included. 

Reading Like a Historian

Over 130 document-based lesson plans that are free to download once you have created an account. Each lesson revolves around a central historical question and features a set of primary documents designed for groups of students with a range of reading skills. 

Library Online Catalog

‚ÄčClick here to search in our library catalog for a book you want to read or a topic you want to research!

PebbleGo

Leveled informational articles on science and social studies topics with read along audio provided by professional voice over artists

Picture Book Database

This database eliminates the need to search multiple places to help educators, researchers, parents and students find picture books that best suit their needs. You can find picture storybooks, beginning readers, board books, poetry collections, and graphic formats here. 

AASL Best Digital Tools for Teaching and Learning

The AASL Best Digital Tools for Teaching & Learning are of exceptional value to inquiry-based teaching and learning.  Tools recognized foster the qualities of innovation, creativity, active participation, and collaboration and are user friendly to encourage a community of learners to explore and discover.  If you see a resource that you are interested in, you must check the software approval list before using.

KYVL

KET PBS Learning Media

Provides access to thousands of standards-aligned digital resources with videos, images, interactives, lesson plans and articles. 

Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives

Did you know that class book kits are available from KDLA to be borrowed through your local public library? Youth book discussion kits for grades PreK-12 feature a wide range of literary styles and genres. Each kit contains multiple copies, a discussion guide, an audiobook, 2 Spanish copies and a large print copy when available.  You can reserve kits up to a year in advance, and you can order several kits at a time. Normal wear and tear on books is expected so don't let the worry of damaged books keep you from requesting books. 

Listing of Youth Book Discussion Kits

LOC

Check-out their "Free to Use and Reuse Public Domain and Rights-Clear Content" as well as their "Teachers" tab which includes teacher-created lesson plans using Library of Congress primary sources.

Teacher Resource Center

The purpose of the Teacher Resource Center (TRC) is to support student learning by being a resource for information and instructional tools along with the opportunity to “make and take” materials back to the classroom. 

JCPSlogo

Jacob Elementary School
3701 East Wheatmore Drive, Louisville, KY 40215