Johnsontown Road Elementary Library: Teacher Resources

​Click here to search in our library catalog for a book you want to read or a topic you want to research!

The website for the Louisville Free Public Library.

The site has lessons that involve historical inquiry. Lesson include a central question and features a set of primary documents designed for students with a range of reading skills.

An excellent inquiry-based STEM curriculum that teaches students thinking and reasoning skills.

Check-out their "Free to Use and Reuse Public Domain and Rights-Clear Content" as well as their "Teachers" tab which includes teacher-created lesson plans using Library of Congress primary sources.

Explore thousands of primary sources- letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, and videos. Discover activities you can teach with! All provided by the National Archives so that you can provide students with inquiry experiences.

Find field trip information, in-school program opportunities from organizations in the Kentuckiana area. 

Includes Kids InfoBits and National Geographic Kids

Search all of the KYVL databases or choose an elementary source to find information for your topic. Some of the databases you can choose from are:

• Britannica School - Elementary
• Funk and Wagnall New Encyclopedia
• Explora Encyclopedia
• Tumble Book Library
• Tumble Math

Engaging learning games, animated movies, and activities. 

This site helps you find the best picture books in one place.

This valuable resource provides access  to a diverse, curated collection of eBooks that can easily be shared with others and downloaded through Google Classroom and Docs with G Suite for Education integration, email, or bookmarked links. These eBooks will be useful for any staff interested in growing professionally! 

Here you will find access to the Professional Library and the Curriculum Resource Center (CRC).

Provides access to thousands of standards-aligned digital resources with videos, images, interactives, lesson plans and articles. 

Contains resources to help improve student social behavior and performance.

Explore content-rich resources, enrich literacy instruction, and link literature with technology.