Newcomer Library: Teacher Resources

Use this search box to find encyclopedia information on your topic.

​Click here to access our Research, Biography, Global Issues, and Student Resources databases. These Gale databases are continuously updated to provide current information. 

Did you know that class book kits are available from KDLA to be borrowed through your local public library? Youth book discussion kits for grades PreK-12 feature a wide range of literary styles and genres. Each kit contains multiple copies, a discussion guide, an audiobook, 2 Spanish copies and a large print copy when available.  You can reserve kits up to a year in advance, and you can order several kits at a time. Normal wear and tear on books is expected so don't let the worry of damaged books keep you from requesting books. 

Provdes access to thousands of standards-aligned digital resources with videos, images, interactives, lesson plans and articles. 

Check-out their "Free to Use and Reuse Public Domain and Rights-Clear Content" as well as their "Teachers" tab which includes teacher-created lesson plans using Library of Congress primary sources.

This valuable resource provides access  to a diverse, curated collection of eBooks that can easily be shared with others and downloaded through Google Classroom and Docs with G Suite for Education integration, email, or bookmarked links. These eBooks will be useful for any staff interested in growing professionally! 

Find field trip information, in-school program opportunities from organizations in the Kentuckiana area. 

TeachingBooks.net give access to a database of resources for children's and young adult books and their authors and illustrators. Use to search titles and find resources to engage readers.