Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Teachers are the only professionals who have to respond to bells every forty-five minutes and come out fighting." - Frank McCourt
Librarians offer classroom instruction on the following topics:
- Book Talks
- Preventing Plagiarism
- Using Databases
- Citing Sources
- Accessing the OPAC/ebooks
- Writing a Resume
- College/Scholarship Search
New to the Professional Collection
The Common Core Companion - The Standards Decoded, Grades 9-12 by
Call Number: PF 371.26 Cal
Publication Date: 2013-08-20
"I love what Jim Burke has done to make the Standards less threatening and more useful for teachers. In particular, the indicators for what students and teachers should be doing, given the Standard, are extremely helpful; as are such a clear glossary and illuminating examples. All in all, The Common Core Companion is bound to be enormously useful and thus dog-eared!" - Grant Wiggins, President, Authentic Education, Hopewell, NJ.
That version of the 9-12 standards you wish you had If you're a high school teacher, no need to despair. Jim Burke has created a Common Core Companion for you, too. This time positioning the grades 9-10 standards alongside 11-12, it's every bit the roadmap to what each standard says, what each standard means, and how to put that standard into practice across subjects. Jim clearly lays out: Key distinctions across grade levels Different content-area versions of each standard; Explanations of each standard, with student prompts; Content to cover; lesson idea;, and instructional techniques Glossary and adaptations for ELL students. A longtime English teacher, Jim Burke is the author of more than 20 books and senior consultant for the Holt McDougal Literature program. Jim has received several awards, including the 2000 NCTE Exemplary English Leadership Award. In 2009, he created the English Companion Ning--the largest online community of English teachers in the world. More recently, Jim has served on the AP English Course and Exam Review Commission and the PARCC Consortium.
Enhancing the Art and Science of Teaching with Technology by
Publication Date: 2013-12-30
Enhancing the Art & Science of Teaching With Technology demonstrates the importance of educational technology, which is quickly becoming an essential component in effective teaching. Authors Sonny Magaña and Robert J. Marzano provide targeted advice on seamlessly incorporating educational technology in teachers¿ current instructional practices. This book includes over one hundred strategies, organized under forty-one elements of effective teaching, to help K¿12 teachers use educational technology effectively. Each chapter also includes a vignette showing the strategies in action.
Part of The Classroom Strategies Series, this clear, highly practical guide follows the series format, first summarizing key research and then translating it into recommendations for classroom practice.
JCPS Professional Learning and Development Library
This valuable resource provides access to a diverse, curated collection of eBooks that can easily be shared with others and downloaded through Google Classroom and Docs with G Suite for Education integration, email, or bookmarked links. These eBooks will be useful for any staff interested in growing professionally!
Next Vista for Learning
Next Vista For Learning provides a library of free videos made by and for teachers and students everywhere.
Electronic Access to The Louisville Courier-Journal
We no longer house the print version of the Courier Journal /USA TODAY. However, we still have electronic access available to Eastern High school students and staff. To access the electronic version, follow the links below. You will need to get the username and password from a librarian.
Click the link above to see the library schedule. (You will have to sign in with your JCPS credentials.) Remember that if you sign up in the classroom space, that does not reserve computers for your students.
The schedule is for viewing only. You must come to the library to reserve time for your classes on the paper schedule or contact library staff via email or phone to schedule library time. The paper schedule is always the schedule we follow in the library.
Explore thousands of primary sources- letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, and videos. Discover activities you can teach with! All provided by the National Archives so that you can provide students with inquiry experiences.
Reading Like a Historian
Over 130 document-based lesson plans that are free to download once you have created an account. Each lesson revolves around a central historical question and features a set of primary documents designed for groups of students with a range of reading skills.
AASL Best Websites for Teaching and Learning
The 2019 Best Websites for Teaching & Learning foster the qualities of innovation, creativity, active participation, and collaboration. Sites recognized are free web-based sites that are user friendly and encourage a community of learners to explore and discover.
AASL Best Apps for Teaching and Learning
The 2019 Best Apps for Teaching & Learning are of exceptional value to inquiry-based teaching and learning. Apps recognized foster the qualities of innovation, creativity, active participation, and collaboration and are user friendly to encourage a community of learners to explore and discover.
Eastern High School Library Catalog (OPAC)
- All books circulate for three weeks
- You must have an Eastern student ID to check out more than one book. With an ID you are limited to three books.
- Fines are 5¢ per day.
- Fines do not start accumulating until they reach 25¢
- Fines that are $1.00 or more and books that are a month or more overdue are added to fees in Infinite Campus which can be accessed through the Parent Portal.
EBooks also circulate for three weeks at a time. You can check out three at a time. They will check themselves back in, and you do not accumulate fines on EBooks. EBooks are available year round 24/7.
Eastern High School
12400 Old Shelbyville Rd., Louisville, KY 40214