Skip to Main Content

Olmsted Academy North Library: Teacher Resources

JCPS Community Partnerships

Find field trip information, in-school program opportunities from organizations in the Kentuckiana area. 

Library Online Catalog (OPAC)

Click here to search in our library catalog for a book you want to read or a topic you want to research!

TeachingBooks

LFPL

‚ÄčVisit your local branch and use your library card to check out a book that we don't have or check out an e-book that can be delivered right to your device!

LOC

Check-out their "Free to Use and Reuse Public Domain and Rights-Clear Content" as well as their "Teachers" tab which includes teacher-created lesson plans using Library of Congress primary sources.

Be Internet Awesome by Google

©2018 Google LLC, used with permission. Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google LLC.

Educators teaching online safety in the classroom can download lesson plans that have received the ISTE Seal of Alignment and classroom activities that bring the fundamentals to life. 

KYVL

Search all of the KYVL databases or choose an elementary source to find information for your topic. 

Gale for Educators Tutorial

JCPS Professional Learning and Development Library

This valuable resource provides access  to a diverse, curated collection of eBooks that can easily be shared with others and downloaded through Google Classroom and Docs with G Suite for Education integration, email, or bookmarked links. These eBooks will be useful for any staff interested in growing professionally! 

Reading Like a Historian

Over 130 document-based lesson plans that are free to download once you have created an account. Each lesson revolves around a central historical question and features a set of primary documents designed for groups of students with a range of reading skills. 

Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives

Did you know that class book kits are available from KDLA to be borrowed through your local public library? Youth book discussion kits for grades PreK-12 feature a wide range of literary styles and genres. Each kit contains multiple copies, a discussion guide, an audiobook, 2 Spanish copies and a large print copy when available.  You can reserve kits up to a year in advance, and you can order several kits at a time. Normal wear and tear on books is expected so don't let the worry of damaged books keep you from requesting books. 

 

Kentucky Historical Society

Resource Guides for each grade level that connect the new Kentucky-centric KAS for Social Studies to a primary source from our online collection. Possible discussion questions are also included. 

Teacher Resource Center

The purpose of the Teacher Resource Center (TRC) is to support student learning by being a resource for information and instructional tools along with the opportunity to “make and take” materials back to the classroom. 

KET PBS Learning Media

Provides access to thousands of standards-aligned digital resources with videos, images, interactives, lesson plans and articles. 

Breakout EDU

Breakout EDU is the immersive learning games platform that brings the challenges of an escape room to the classroom. 

Computer Science Resources

Every student in Jefferson County deserves the opportunity to create in ways that challenge their thinking, engage in collaboration and spark new learning that changes the way they experience the world. Understanding and applying the principles and practices of Computer Science in an inclusive environment provide students with this opportunity.

New York Times

The New York Times Company and Verizon Partner to Provide Free NYTimes.com Access to Title I Schools Nationwide

AASL Best Digital Tool

Photo of American Association of School Librarians Best Digital Tools

The AASL  Best  Digital Tools for Teaching & Learning are of exceptional value to inquiry-based teaching and learning. Tools recognized foster the qualities of innovation, creativity, active participation, and collaboration and are user friendly to encourage a community of learners to explore and discover. If you see a resource that you are interested in, you must check the software approval list before using.

JCPSlogo

Olmsted Academy North
4530 Bellevue Ave., Louisville, KY 40215