Skip to Main Content
JCPS Community Partnerships
Find field trip information, in-school program opportunities from organizations in the Kentuckiana area.
Check-out their "Free to Use and Reuse Public Domain and Rights-Clear Content" as well as their "Teachers" tab which includes teacher-created lesson plans using Library of Congress primary sources.
Louisville Free Public Library
Visit your local branch and use your library card to check out a book that we don't have or check out an e-book that can be delivered right to your device!
JCPS Professional Learning and Development Library
This valuable resource provides access to a diverse, curated collection of eBooks that can easily be shared with others and downloaded through Google Classroom and Docs with G Suite for Education integration, email, or bookmarked links. These eBooks will be useful for any staff interested in growing professionally!
Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives
Did you know that class book kits are available from KDLA to be borrowed through your local public library? Youth book discussion kits for grades PreK-12 feature a wide range of literary styles and genres. Each kit contains multiple copies, a discussion guide, an audiobook, 2 Spanish copies and a large print copy when available. You can reserve kits up to a year in advance, and you can order several kits at a time. Normal wear and tear on books is expected so don't let the worry of damaged books keep you from requesting books.
Teacher Resource Center
The purpose of the Teacher Resource Center (TRC) is to support student learning by being a resource for information and instructional tools along with the opportunity to “make and take” materials back to the classroom.
Search all of the KYVL databases or choose an elementary source to find information for your topic.
Picture Book Database
This database eliminates the need to search multiple places to help educators, researchers, parents and students find picture books that best suit their needs. You can find picture storybooks, beginning readers, board books, poetry collections, and graphic formats here.
Explore thousands of primary sources- letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, and videos. Discover activities you can teach with! All provided by the National Archives so that you can provide students with inquiry experiences.
Be Internet Awesome by Google
©2018 Google LLC, used with permission. Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google LLC.
Educators teaching online safety in the classroom can download lesson plans that have received the ISTE Seal of Alignment and classroom activities that bring the fundamentals to life.
KET PBS Learning Media
Provides access to thousands of standards-aligned digital resources with videos, images, interactives, lesson plans and articles.
Reading Like a Historian
Over 130 document-based lesson plans that are free to download once you have created an account. Each lesson revolves around a central historical question and features a set of primary documents designed for groups of students with a range of reading skills.
Kentucky Historical Society
Resource Guides for each grade level that connect the new Kentucky-centric KAS for Social Studies to a primary source from our online collection. Possible discussion questions are also included.
PBS NewsHour Extra
Extra’s mission is to help middle and high school students understand world events and national issues and answer the question, “Why should I care about the news?”
Extra helps educators spark young people’s interest in the world around them by providing news articles written for students with the background and context needed to understand complex topics and creating high-quality, free lesson plans and teaching tools that make it easy to bring current events and issues into the classroom.
JCPS Software Approval
The purpose of the JCPS software approval process is to ensure students are using evidence-based, high-quality resources, and that agreements are in place to protect students, our schools, and the district overall. Approval must be granted before any add-on, app, extension, or other software is accessed or made available for student use.
Barret Traditional Middle School
2561 Grinstead Dr., Louisville, KY 40206