Skip to main content

Goldsmith Elementary Library: Teacher Resources

LOC

Check-out their "Free to Use and Reuse Public Domain and Rights-Clear Content" as well as their "Teachers" tab which includes teacher-created lesson plans using Library of Congress primary sources.

Reading Like a Historian

Over 130 document-based lesson plans that are free to download once you have created an account. Each lesson revolves around a central historical question and features a set of primary documents designed for groups of students with a range of reading skills.

Newsela

Cross-curricular articles with adjustable reading levels. Access some features for free, but there is also a paid version.

Teaching Books

Professional Library/CRC

KYVL

Search all of the KYVL databases or choose an elementary source to find information for your topic. 

The Best Children's Books

Class Hook

Provides clips of TV shows and movies to use in your lessons. Some clips require a paid subscription.

DOCSTeach

Explore thousands of primary sources- letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, and videos. Discover activities you can teach with! All provided by the National Archives so that you can provide students with inquiry experiences.

JCPS Professional Learning and Development Library

This valuable resource provides access  to a diverse, curated collection of eBooks that can easily be shared with others and downloaded through Google Classroom and Docs with G Suite for Education integration, email, or bookmarked links. These eBooks will be useful for any staff interested in growing professionally! 

PBS Learning Media

Provides access to thousands of standards-aligned digital resources with videos, images, interactives, lesson plans and articles. 

Reading A-Z

Check here for downloadable books, resources, and learning materials. New books are continuously added.

Picturebook Database

NoveList

NoveList helps you choose your next read. You can browse by genre, read alikes, or age group!

JCPSlogo

Goldsmith Elementary School
3520 Goldsmith Lane, Louisville, KY 40220