Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Phoenix School of Discovery: Welcome

Easy access links to our learning programs.

Welcome!

Welcome to the Phoenix School of Discovery Library!

Teachers, please email Mrs. Geddes at:

Jennifer.Geddes@Jefferson.Kyschools.US to schedule a class visit!

Students, sign in HERE!

 

Library Schedule

 


1st Period 7:40 - 8:46

PLANNING - Can be flexible

2nd Period 8:48 - 9:52

OPEN 

RISE 9:58 - 10:48

OPEN

3rd Period 10:48 - 11:42

Closed - Yearbook Class

4th Period 11:44 - 1:14

Closed - Library Class

5th Period 1:16 - 2:20 

OPEN

 

Library Catalog - OPAC

Ask the Librarian

New Books!

Dreamers

An illustrated picture book autobiography in which award-winning author Yuyi Morales tells her own immigration story.

Superstar

Fifth grader Lester, a space enthusiast and homeschool kid, suddenly finds himself thrust into the world of public elementary school. Lester faces the ups and downs of making friends, meeting bullies, learning about his autism diagnosis, and finding joy- and heartbreak - in the science fair. Join Lester on a journey to find his way in school and to discover that what is most important isn't what you can do, but who you are.

Other Words for Home

New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

The Undefeated

Originally performed for ESPN's The Undefeated, this poem is a love letter to black life in the United States. It highlights the unspeakable trauma of slavery, the faith and fire of the civil rights movement, and the grit, passion, and perseverance of some of the world's greatest heroes. The text is also peppered with references to the words of Martin Luther King, Jr., Langston Hughes, Gwendolyn Brooks, and others, offering deeper insights into the accomplishments of the past, while bringing stark attention to the endurance and spirit of those surviving and thriving in the present.

She Persisted Around the World

Women around the world have long dreamed big, even when they've been told their dreams didn't matter. They've spoken out, risen up and fought for what's right, even when they've been told to be quiet. Whether in science, the arts, sports or activism, women and girls throughout history have been determined to break barriers and change the status quo. They haven't let anyone get in their way and have helped us better understand our world and what's possible.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Jennifer Geddes
Contact:
502 Wood Road
Louisville, Ky 40222
502-485-7700

Read WOKE Challenge

JCPSlogo

Phoenix School of Discovery
3741 Pulliam Dr., Louisville, KY 40218