Skip to main content

Western Middle School for the Arts Library: Welcome

Online Catalog

What's happening?

                                                          Image result for new school year                                                         

Welcome back to the 2019-2020 school year! We're looking forward to book fairs, the book swap, and various contests throughout the year.  Most of the new (as well as last year's) Project LIT books are available, and we'll get that club going as soon as possible. And keep an eye out for our new project building area! 

Circulation Snapshot 2018
Mid-year
Western Middle

Books Per Student (BPS): 4

Total checked out/renewed: 2636
BPS = books circulated Aug-Dec / Enrollment

BPS AVG : Medium  Rank 9 out of 21 Middle Schools

“I have always imagined paradise will be a kind of library.” – Jorge Luis Borges 

                                                                                    

News

  • The Library will be open at 7:00 a.m. beginning Thursday, August 15.  Please pick up a pass in the front office, and don't forget to sign in!
  • We will begin checking out books August 19
  • Scholastic book order forms are available. I'll be submitting the orders on August 30.

 

 

Project Lit 2019-2020

Western Middle SFA is part of the Project LIT Community!

Project LIT is a grassroots literacy movement empowering readers and leaders in hundreds of schools & communities across the country.   

 

Front Desk

Mia Tang has a lot of secrets. Number 1: She lives in a motel, not a big house. Every day, while her immigrant parents clean the rooms, ten-year-old Mia manages the front desk of the Calivista Motel and tends to its guests. Number 2: Her parents hide immigrants. And if the mean motel owner, Mr. Yao, finds out they've been letting them stay in the empty rooms for free, the Tangs will be doomed. Number 3: She wants to be a writer. But how can she when her mom thinks she should stick to math because English is not her first language? It will take all of Mia's courage, kindness, and hard work to get through this year.

Scythe

In a world with no hunger, no disease, no war, and no death, scythes are the only ones who can end life. They are commanded to do so in order to keep the size of the population under control. Citra and Rowan are chosen to apprentice with a scythe- a role that neither wants. These teens must master the "art" of taking life and learn that creating a perfect world comes with a heavy price.

Swing

Noah and his best friend Walt want to become cool, make the baseball team, and win over Sam, the girl Noah has loved for years. When Noah finds old love letters, Walt hatches a plan to woo Sam. But as Noah's love life and Walt's baseball career begin, the letters alter everything

Hey, Kiddo

In kindergarten, Jarrett Krosoczka's teacher asks him to draw his family, with a mommy and a daddy. But Jarrett's family is much more complicated than that. Jarrett lives with his grandparents -- two very loud, very loving, very opinionated people who had thought they were through with raising children until Jarrett came along. Jarrett goes through his childhood trying to make his non-normal life as normal as possible. Only as a teenager can Jarrett begin to piece together the truth of his family, reckoning with his mother and tracking down his father. Hey, Kiddo is a profoundly important memoir about growing up in a family grappling with addiction, and finding the art that helps you survive.

Internment

Set in a horrifying near-future United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin and her parents are forced into an internment camp for Muslim American citizens. With the help of newly made friends also trapped within the internment camp, her boyfriend on the outside, and an unexpected alliance, Layla begins a journey to fight for freedom, leading a revolution against the camp's Director and his guards. Heart-racing and emotional, Internment challenges readers to fight complicit silence that exists in our society today.

Monday's Not Coming

Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable--more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn't turn up for the first day of school, Claudia's worried. When she doesn't show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she's gone?

Opposite of Always

"One of the best love stories I've ever read." --Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give "Read this one, reread it, and then hug it to your chest."  --Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Debut author Justin A. Reynolds delivers a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green. When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he's falling--hard. Soon she's meeting his best friends, Jillian and Franny, and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack. But then Kate dies. And their story should end there. Yet Kate's death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate's there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn't sure if he's losing his mind. Still, if he has a chance to prevent Kate's death, he'll take it. Even if that means believing in time travel. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. And when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he's willing to do to save the people he loves.

A Very Large Expanse of Sea

 It's 2002, a year after 9/11. It's an extremely turbulent time politically, but especially so for someone like Shirin, a sixteen-year-old Muslim girl who's tired of being stereotyped. Shirin is never surprised by how horrible people can be. She's tired of the rude stares, the degrading comments--even the physical violence--she endures as a result of her race, her religion, and the hijab she wears every day.  But then she meets Ocean James. 

With the Fire on High

 Ever since she got pregnant freshman year, Emoni Santiago's life has been about making the tough decisions--doing what has to be done for her daughter and her abuela. The one place she can let all that go is in the kitchen, where she adds a little something magical to everything she cooks, turning her food into straight-up goodness. Even though she dreams of working as a chef after she graduates, Emoni knows that it's not worth her time to pursue the impossible. Yet despite the rules she thinks she has to play by, once Emoni starts cooking, her only choice is to let her talent break free.

Blended

Piano-prodigy Isabella, whose black father and white mother struggle to share custody, never feels whole--especially as racial tensions affect her school, her parents both become engaged, and she and her stepbrother are stopped by police.

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora

 Save the restaurant. Save the town. Get the girl. Make Abuela proud. Can thirteen-year-old Arturo Zamora do it all or is he in for a BIG, EPIC FAIL? 

Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World

In the wake of a destructive tornado, one girl develops feelings for another in this stunning, tender novel about emerging identity. 

Librarian

Wendy Stoll's picture
Wendy Stoll
Contact:
Western Middle SFA
2201 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40212

7:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
485-8345
Website
JCPSlogo

Western Middle School
2201 West Main St., Louisville, KY 40212